Bookstagram

Fangirl's Guide to Loki Fashion



Can I please just say that this is the moment I've been waiting for since the very first Thor movie came out. I have always loved Loki, his mischievous ways, his attitude, everything about him was fantastic. The one major problem I always had was finding ways to show it.

I remember my first trip the local comic con, among the tables and walls of t-shirts and hoodies there was extremely limited among of Loki Merchandise available. In fact, I recall a grand total of two t-shirt designs that featured the God of Mischief and really not much else.

Not to say I haven't found my fair share of Fangirl wear but when you work in an office environment it could be hard to find work appropriate attire. That is where Her Universe and Hot Topic has come to the rescue.

So many of their pieces are Subtle enough for everyday wear but have the details that any true fangirl, or boy would recognize. EVEN BETTER There's now an entire Loki line! Christmas list complete.

MARVEL LOKI VELVET EMBOSSED DRESS

$49.90 $39.92 USD

Currently 20% off 

Sizes XS-3X

Available at HER UNIVERSE

Also Available at HOT TOPIC


This piece is beautiful and could be easily dressed up, pair with a blazer for work and when you look at the green velvet fabric you see the Loki crown embellished dress. I would wear this to work, also a Christmas party, out on a date. Very versatile.








HER UNIVERSE MARVEL LOKI GREEN FAUX LEATHER GIRLS JACKET


$69.90 USD

XS-3X

Ony Available at HOT TOPIC



This piece I am absolutely in love with, the Her Universe website had a black version of it but I feel like the green really captures the Loki spirit. It's cut much like Loki's costume and If you get a closer look at the lapel on the jacket it's clear to see the little gold studs with his crown featured. I would happily add this piece to my wardrobe and get a lot of use out of it.





MARVEL LOKI CAPE BLAZER

$59.90 $47.92

Currently 20% off 

Sizes XS-3X

Available at HER UNIVERSE

This would be a super cute workpiece if you love that cape look. I prefer it as seen in the photo here with a long sleeve black shirt underneath because it helps it looked like a complete piece. I have seen photos of it over a lighter short sleeve shirt and I feel like the contrast actually takes away from the blazer as a whole. Plus it's winter up here in Canada and the thought alone is leaving me chilly!







Do you have any favorite fangirl pieces that you own and wear on the regular? I'd love to see what you've got!

The Becoming of Noah Shaw

The Becoming of Noah Shaw (The Shaw Confessions #1)
by Michelle Hodkin
384 pages | November 7th 2017 | Simon & Schuster Books





In the first book of the Shaw Confessions, the companion series to the New York Times bestselling Mara Dyer novels, old skeletons are laid bare and new promises prove deadly. This is what happens after happily ever after. 

Everyone thinks seventeen-year-old Noah Shaw has the world on a string.  They’re wrong. Mara Dyer is the only one he trusts with his secrets and his future.

He shouldn’t. And both are scared that uncovering the truth about themselves will force them apart. They’re right.



I admittedly started reading this book with apprehension. Now usually when an author does this it either goes really well or terribly. I'm happy to say, at least in my humble opinion, this one went really well. If you have not read the Mara Dyer series do not even pick up this book, you'll be confused and won't be able to enjoy the storyline. 

This story picks up not long after the end of The Retribution of Mara Dyer. As a spin-off series, the character continues their journey together. It was intriguing and refreshing getting to see things from a perspective of another character in this story is amazing. Getting inside Noah's head, finally, really understanding his character. 

I liked the change of dynamic within the character relationship. I think people who may have disliked Noah's character for how he sort of fell in line, will appreciate getting to see how he reevaluated himself and their relationship. It was moving, a bit heartbreaking but necessary for their connection to evolve and change. At the end of the book, all I wanted was more!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would certainly recommend to fans of the original series



Michelle Hodkin is the author of the Mara Dyer Trilogy, which was a New York Times, USA Today, and Publishers Weekly bestselling series. The trilogy, which includes The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer, and The Retribution of Mara Dyer, was described as “haunting and dreamlike” by Cassandra Clare and “darkly funny, deliciously creepy, and genuinely thoughtful” by Veronica Roth. Lev Grossman has called Hodkin “One of the greatest talents in Young Adult fiction.” The novels were praised by Romantic Times, MTV’s Hollywood Crush, and the Los Angeles Times, and books from the series appeared on several state reading lists. Additionally, The Retribution of Mara Dyer was selected as one of TIME.com’s Top 10 YA Books of 2014. Hodkin grew up in Florida, went to college in New York, and studied law in Michigan, before finally settling in Brooklyn last year. 



Thor: Ragnarok (Film Review)

Thor: Ragnarok
Director Taika Waititi
2h 10min | 3 November 2017 | Walt Disney Studios


Imprisoned, the almighty Thor finds himself in a lethal gladiatorial contest against the Hulk, his former ally. Thor must fight for survival and race against time to prevent the all-powerful Hela from destroying his home and the Asgardian civilization
















All I can say is finally. Over the years of Avengers films and individual ones, Thor has sort of become the MCU's running joke. The strong, good-looking Prince of Asgard who wasn't meant to be taken seriously.  He had never truly had a moment to become the hero we needed him to be. While the rest of our Avengers have had their emotional journeys Thor's were usually overshadowed rather quickly and he went back to being the good-looking joke. I think the greater problem was that they never really properly acknowledged that role within the story and he was placed in these 'serious' storylines and stuck out awkwardly within them. 

Finally, someone got it right, maybe it was the haircut or the destruction of his crutch of a hammer, but the movie started out treating everything around him as one big joke and continued throughout the film while managing to maintain a very real threat within the story line. 

Thor finally evolves a character, as a hero, as a king of his people. By the end of the film I was rejoicing in the fact that he was finally the badass we knew he could be. Plus there's a lot of Loki in this movie which is reason enough to run out and see it! I am so happy to finally be able to say that I loved a Thor movie! 


The Audible Addiction




I never thought a time in my life would come where I would find that I didn't have oodles of time to read. I am a fast reader, and when I love a story I can get through it in a day if I'm dedicated enough. I used to read two to three books in a week, so many more in a month. Then with working, soccer, writing my own stories I suddenly found books that were taking me a couple days suddenly were taking me weeks, sometimes months to finish. MONTHS. Totally unheard of for me.

So I have to admit I was pretty thrilled with my 30-day free membership from AUDIBLE, Amazon's audio book company. Listening to the books take a bit longer than if I were reading them myself but the difference is that I can listen anywhere! In the car on the way to work, in the kitchen while I'm cooking, in the bathroom getting ready in the morning. You name it, I can listen to a book while I do (within reason of course). The same can't be said for holding my paperbacks up.

Books I'd been putting off reading are done, or books that were exceptionally long and overwhelming to look at were much easier for me to listen to. Since signing up for Audible I've listening to so many different stories including Ender's Game and most recently starting The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes.



The enjoyment of an audio book really depends a lot on the narrator so ALWAYS look at the reviews, they will tell you a lot because even a great book can be ruined by bad narration.

Still, if you're been putting off trying audio books there's really no time like the present and if you're already a member let me know why, and how you like to enjoy your audio books!


If you're not a member yet try the offer below for two free books!!

The Virgin's Daughter


The Virgin's Daughter (Tudor Legacy #1)
By Laura Andersen
368 pages | May 26th 2015 | Ballantine Books

 

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, The Virgin's Daughter is the first book in a captivating new saga about the next generation of Tudor royals, which poses the thrilling question: What if Elizabeth I, the celebrated Virgin Queen, gave birth to a legitimate heir? 

Since the death of her brother, William, Elizabeth I has ruled England. She’s made the necessary alliances, married Philip of Spain, and produced a successor: her only daughter, Anne Isabella, Princess of Wales. Elizabeth knows that her beloved Anabel will be a political pawn across Europe unless she can convince Philip to grant her a divorce, freeing him to remarry and give Spain its own heir. But the enemies of England have even greater plans for the princess, a plot that will put Anabel’s very life and the security of the nation in peril. Only those closest to Elizabeth—her longtime confidante Minuette, her advisor and friend Dominic, and the couple’s grown children—can be trusted to carry forth a most delicate and dangerous mission. Yet, all of the queen’s maneuverings may ultimately prove her undoing. 




I will start by saying that while I enjoy historical fiction and alternate story lines I also enjoy history a great deal. That being said I was hesitant to even give this book a change the moment I read the blurb line 'Since the death of her brother, William' given the fact that I know Queen Elizabeth I brother was Edward. I blinked in confusion staring at it for a moment before I realized that this was a completely alternate universe where Willaim was a fictional son of Anne Boleyn from the author's The Boleyn King book. 

So beware although it indicates that it's the first in a series, it's really not! It's a So spin off of the author's other series. Either way, I decided to give the book a shot, but I will recommend to other readers that you start with the others books first to best understand the whole alternate world the book is set in.  

It was worth a read though, this story of how Elizabeth I life might have been was well written, intriguing and enjoyable. Those who have a thirst for accurate historical interpretation will likely not enjoy the spin of the tale but I found to my surprise that I did! 



Laura Andersen has one husband, four children, and a college degree in English that she puts to non-profitable use by reading everything she can lay her hands on. Books, shoes, and travel are her fiscal downfalls, which she justifies because all three ‘take you places.’ She loves the ocean (but not sand), forests (but not camping), good food (but not cooking), and shopping (there is no downside.) She lives in Massachusetts with her family.