Bookstagram

The Shadow Sister (The Seven Sisters 3) (Review)

The Shadow Sister (The Seven Sister 3)
By Lucinda Riley
528 pages | April 25th 2017 |  Atria Books



Travel through the lush English countryside and explore the magnificent estates of the British aristocracy in this next spellbinding love story in The Seven Sisters series by #1 internationally bestselling author Lucinda Riley.

Star D’Aplièse is at a crossroads in her life after the sudden death of her beloved father—the elusive billionaire, affectionately called Pa Salt by his six daughters, all adopted from across the four corners of the world. He has left each of them a clue to her true heritage, and Star nervously decides to follow hers, which leads her to an antiquarian bookshop in London, and the start of a whole new world.

A hundred years earlier, headstrong and independent Flora MacNichol vows she will never marry. She is happy and secure in her home in England’s picturesque Lake District—just a stone’s throw away from the residence of her childhood idol, Beatrix Potter—when machinations lead her to London, and the home of one of Edwardian society’s most notorious society hostesses, Alice Keppel. Flora is torn between passionate love and her duty to her family, but finds herself a pawn in a larger game. That is, until a meeting with a mysterious gentleman unveils the answers that Flora has been searching for her whole life...

As Star learns more of Flora’s incredible journey, she too goes on a voyage of discovery, finally stepping out of the shadow of her sister and opening herself up to the possibility of love.

The Shadow Sister is the third in the sweeping Seven Sisters series, “soaked in glamour and romance” (Daily Mail) and perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and the novels of Kate Morton.



I was quite uncertain what to expect from this book. The description seemingly had everything I could ever want in a book, but I was unfamiliar with the series. I was informed the book could be enjoyed as a stand-alone, so when I received this book as an ARC I went ahead and devoured it.

This is not what I would call an easy read. While I enjoyed it the book itself required a lot of committed time and concentration though luckily it is not dull so it's not that difficult but I definitely had to give it my full attention. Not the type of book I would recommend reading while you're juggling another few.  

The author manages to paint such a vivid picture for the reader, weaving an intricate, interesting and intriguing story line. I was so drawn into the story line of quite literally The Shadow Sister, fighting to find her own way and struggling with putting her own needs before those of her sisters. It was an extremely relatable read when we all face that choice of me or them. 

I give it a full 5 stars not only because I was enveloped in the storyline but because this made me want to go back and read the first two in the series! 

Thanks to Simon and Schuster Canada for the ARC. 



Lucinda Riley was born in Ireland, and after an early career as an actress in film, theatre and television, wrote her first book aged twenty-four. Her novel Hothouse Flower was selected by the UK’s Richard and Judy Book Club in 2011 and her books have been translated into over thirty languages and sold over ten million copies worldwide. She is a New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author.

Lucinda’s novels include The Seven Sisters, a seven-book series telling the story of adopted sisters and based allegorically on the mythology of the famous star constellation. The first three books, The Seven Sisters, The Storm Sister, and The Shadow Sister have all been No.1 bestsellers across Europe, and the rights to a multi-season TV series have already been optioned by a Hollywood production company. The fourth book, The Pearl Sister, will be available in November this year.

To read about Lucinda’s inspiration behind The Seven Sisters series, please visit www.thesevensistersseries.com

She is also releasing a number of stand-alone books such as The Olive Tree, a contemporary story based around a family holiday in Cyprus, which will be available in paperback from July. This follows the release of rewritten titles previously published under her maiden name of Lucinda Edmonds such as The Italian Girl and The Angel Tree. 

Lucinda lives with her husband and four children on the North Norfolk coast in England and West Cork, Ireland.

When not writing, travelling or running around after her children, she loves reading books that she hasn’t written with a glass or two of Provençal rosé!

No comments:

Post a Comment